Motion Blur

reading

tags: #reading #list #year2021

今天稍微整理了一下我各式各样的subscriptions和news sources,想了想还是觉得「读书让人得到抚慰」这句话的真实性和它的cliché-ness至少一个等级的。抚慰显然不仅仅指的是狭义上的「治愈」,更多的是帮助你在有时间和空间的广度的世界里situate自己、contextualize自身的处境。这样的emotional + intellectual process是很难通过碎片式的阅读得到代偿的。

几乎可以肯定的是,2021年于我一定是充满巨变的一年。具体到读书这件事上,我也没法估计我今年会有多少时间和精力读书,更无从得知我会在什么时间点因为什么原因选择去读一本不曾出现在我任何一个书单上的书。所以这里只大致地列一个2021年的书单,和一点点有关阅读的目标吧。

The List

Physics

This is the section I'm most unsure about, since physics reading significantly depends on what kind of research project I am involved in. For now, I'll just list these two bricks I've owned for quite some time, as I'm sure they will be inspiring whichever specific field I enter.

  1. Condensed Matter Field Theory, Altland and Simons
  2. Conformal Field Theory, Vol. 1, Di Francesco, Mathieu, and Sénéchal

Fiction

The main goal here is to finish as many paperbacks I have with me here in Hyde Park as possible to alleviate the pain of moving...

  1. The Sympathizer, Viet Thanh Nguyen This one was recommended to me by two friends separately at least 2 years ago.

  2. The Waves, Virginia Woolf Woolf. What else need I say?

  3. Normal People, Sally Rooney

  4. Conversations with Friends, Sally Rooney Again obvious choices. I've been stuck in this self-interrogating state ever since I finished watching the TV adaptation of /Normal People/. A standalone blog post hopefully will address what the story has got me thinking about my relationship with myself and the world after I finish the books.

  5. Swann's Way, Marcel Proust

  6. As I Lay Dying, William Faulkner

  7. The Glass Bead Game, Hermann Hesse

  8. Brave New World, Aldous Huxley

  9. The Handmaid's Tale, Margaret Atwood

  10. Lolita, Vladimir Nabokov

  11. Crime and Punishment, Fyodor Dostoyevsky

  12. Far from the Madding Crowd, Thomas Hardy

  13. 繁花,金宇澄

The last one needs to be singled out: 16. 我的青春恋爱物语果然有问题,vol. 8-14, 渡航

Non-fiction

  1. Permanent Record, Edward Snowden
  2. The Rebel, Albert Camus
  3. Voices from Chernobyl, Svetlana Alexievich
  4. The Origins of Totalitarianism, Hannah Arendt
  5. Imagined Communities, Benedict Anderson
  1. About two years ago I decided to write at least something after I watch a film. Starting from this year I hope to do the same for books too.
  2. Keep this blog alive and write a summary of recent reads at the end of each month.
  3. Finish one before starting another, excluding physics and math books.